Enjoy 10% OFF ALL Book Orders Over RM150
  • The Doctor and the Diva by Adrienne McDonnell

The Doctor and the Diva

By: Adrienne McDonnell

Condition: Very good
Learn more about Book Conditions

RM15.90

The Doctor and the Diva by Adrienne McDonnell

1 in stock

Description

Inspired by a true story—a breathtaking novel of romantic obsession, longing, and one woman's choice between motherhood and her operatic career calling

It is 1903, and Erika von Kessler has struggled for years to become pregnant. Resigned to childlessness, Erika—a talented opera singer and the wife of a prominent Boston businessman—secretly plans to move to Italy to pursue her musical career. The charismatic Doctor Ravell is a rising fertility specialist. When Erika becomes his patient, he is mesmerized by her elegance and extraordinary voice—and finds himself taking an impetuous risk that could ruin them both.

Stunningly realized and inspired by Adrienne McDonnell’s own family history, The Doctor and the Diva moves from snowy Boston to the tropical forests of the Caribbean to the gilded balconies of Florence.  It is searing historical fiction—a tale of opera, the indomitable power of romantic obsession, and a woman’s irreconcilable desires as she is forced to choose between the child she has always yearned for and the artistic career she cannot live without.  Fans of Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto and Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank will be moved by this novel’s bittersweet beauty.

Additional information

Weight 380 g
Dimensions 222 × 140 × 29 mm
Book Author

Condition

Format

Publisher

Language

Rating